Stash solution – extra items but with a turn penalty

Although the central place for design discussion is ##crawl-dev on freenode, some may find it helpful to discuss requests and suggestions here first.

Lair Larrikin

Post Thursday, 31st December 2015, 17:05

Stash solution – extra items but with a turn penalty

I can’t take credit for this idea as I came across it here: https://www.reddit.com/r/dcss/comments/3pvkno/opinion_on_branching_the_game/cw9wzge. It seems like an elegant solution to the complaints about stashes/inventory. I just wanted to make sure it got some visibility.

I know more inventory slots is listed on the Page of Anathema, but rather than just saying “make the inventory bigger”, this has a gameplay concepts added to it. I searched GDD and didn’t see anything similar.

The Satchel (I’m not good at naming things) would be an item that takes up on item slot in your inventory. When selected, it displays a second inventory.

The catch is that it takes X number of turns to retrieve and use the item in your satchel, where X is the number of items in your satchel. This is analogous to a real backpack, in which you have to rummage around and sort through things in order to find what you wanted. Moving things to and from would use the multi-flag style ticks you use to drop multiple items.

This allows players who have enormous Sif libraries to lug around their stuff - but they can’t get to it in a hurry. The satchel is useful for planning, but not for emergencies. The concept is already in the game in the sense that it takes time to get in and out of armour. If you want to play with armour resistances you can, it just costs you turns. If you want to carry more potions or wands you can, it just costs you turns to get to them.