Opened the door, and immediately dead

Yet Another Stupid Death - Find a particularly innovative way to get killed? Share your pain!
Yet Another Victory Post - Brag about your bad-ass character and all your runes and whatnot.
Characters in Progress - share promising or interesting characters that are not dead yet.

Dungeon Dilettante

Post Tuesday, 10th November 2015, 02:13

Opened the door, and immediately dead

This was unexpected. Cruising along as a Minotaur Berserker, get to dungeon floor 10, open the only door I see, and...bam. Fiery death.

I didn't get a chance to do anything. There was only one door, autoexplore opened it, and then I got burnt alive. Maybe I could've made a different decision earlier on, I'm no pro at this game, but damn.

Character dump:
http://pastebin.com/JwaHqj78

:(

Pandemonium Purger

Post Tuesday, 10th November 2015, 02:18

Re: Opened the door, and immediately dead

Try closing the door and then running next time. From the dump it looks like you had one turn to do something, namely close the door.
http://crawl.akrasiac.org/scoring/playe ... speon.html. I started playing in 0.16.1
I achieved greatplayer in less than a year.
Remove food

Dungeon Dilettante

Post Tuesday, 10th November 2015, 02:28

WingedEspeon wrote:Try closing the door and then running next time. From the dump it looks like you had one turn to do something, namely close the door.

There was no pause between autoexplore starting and the character dying.

Dungeon Master

Post Tuesday, 10th November 2015, 02:36

Yes, it can happen, also without autoexplore (I had it too, was doy's ghost in my case: dead from full health). Given the nature of the game, these kind of deaths are part of the package. In principle, it would be possible to prevent them, but that way lies madness. They're pretty rare, so just go with it. Condolences, and better luck next time!

For this message the author dpeg has received thanks:
stoneychips

Dungeon Dilettante