On Clearing the v0.8 Elf:5 Vaults

Ask fellow adventurers how to stay alive in the deep, dark, dangerous dungeon below, or share your own accumulated wisdom.

Temple Termagant

Post Monday, 21st March 2011, 19:55

On Clearing the v0.8 Elf:5 Vaults

This is my way of clearing the final level of the Elven Halls in v0.8, specifically the large room which contains the treasure vaults on Elf:5. This is the first time I have conquered this branch of the Dungeon.

I know I am still a noob at this game.

Even being aware of that fact couldn't stop me from undertaking an absolutely insane suicide mission which was so stupid of me to even try and it would have sucked pretty bad for my precious character IF I HAVEN'T TOTALLY COME OUT ON TOP IN THE END...

Alright, so, I was only a lvl 14 High Elf Crusader, at the threshold of the "Vaults" area of the final level of the Elven Halls. I have never faced anything more dangerous than a lowly Summoner, Conjurer, Mage or Knight of the pointy-eared variety up to this point and I just KNEW all the Bad Mother F***ers of the Elven Halls were in there. I never faced these bad boys before but I read the things they could do to my poor character on CrawlWiki. Horrible, horrible things which followed a rather obvious pattern: Summoning things from HELL, Banishment to HELL and Nuking you to HELL. It was Crawl's way of telling me; Son, you're goin' to *HELL*.

The Tools of The Trade.

Note: I was only "quite resistant" to magic, which was why this was a huge risk and was also why I did what I did in a very specific and carefully planned pattern which had to be executed perfectly.