Can´t seem to update git on W7


Problems running or configuring the software, commands & options, compiling, different platforms, using the interface, documentation, etc.

Spider Stomper

Posts: 233

Joined: Saturday, 18th February 2012, 04:40

Post Monday, 12th August 2013, 19:46

Can´t seem to update git on W7

I have recently ditched WInXP & installed Win 7 instead and since that installation crawl updates on git doesn’t seem to work anymore.
I use the following commands to install git+crawl

git clone git://gitorious.org/crawl/crawl.git
cd crawl
git submodule update --init
cd crawl-ref/source
TILES=y


and (usually every 2-3 days) when I try to update with
cd crawl
git pull
cd crawl-ref/source
make TILES=y


the cd crawl command gives me the following response:
bash: cd: crawl: No such file or directory

I don´t recall having this specific problem on the XP. (I use msysgit netinstall version 1.8.1.2)
What am I doing wrong :?:

Ziggurat Zagger

Posts: 3163

Joined: Friday, 6th January 2012, 18:45

Post Monday, 12th August 2013, 19:53

Re: Can´t seem to update git on W7

On my windows setup, for some reason it creates the crawl folder in the git folder.

So I have to:
cd git/crawl
git pull
etc.

For this message the author BlackSheep has received thanks:
graffen69

Ziggurat Zagger

Posts: 6454

Joined: Tuesday, 30th October 2012, 19:06

Post Monday, 12th August 2013, 20:31

Re: Can´t seem to update git on W7

graffen69 wrote:I have recently ditched WInXP & installed Win 7 instead and since that installation crawl updates on git doesn’t seem to work anymore.
I use the following commands to install git+crawl

git clone git://gitorious.org/crawl/crawl.git
cd crawl
git submodule update --init
cd crawl-ref/source
TILES=y


and (usually every 2-3 days) when I try to update with
cd crawl
git pull
cd crawl-ref/source
make TILES=y


the cd crawl command gives me the following response:
bash: cd: crawl: No such file or directory

I don´t recall having this specific problem on the XP. (I use msysgit netinstall version 1.8.1.2)
What am I doing wrong :?:


Git clone will make your crawl directory as a subdirectory of whatever you were in when you cloned it (I have mine in ~/workspace/crawl for example) You need to CD to the proper directory in order to pull/make it.

FInd the spot you cloned crawl to and CD to that. In Win 7, bash's starting folder is C:\Users\<yourname> however you could have git installed anywhere and crawl cloned anywhere you'd like.
Spoiler: show
This high quality signature has been hidden for your protection. To unlock it's secret, send 3 easy payments of $9.99 to me, by way of your nearest theta band or ley line. Complete your transmission by midnight tonight for a special free gift!

For this message the author Siegurt has received thanks:
graffen69

Spider Stomper

Posts: 233

Joined: Saturday, 18th February 2012, 04:40

Post Saturday, 12th October 2013, 01:27

Re: Can´t seem to update git on W7

Ok, i know this is an old thread, but i have got similar problems again.
When using msysGit trying to update and writing the last command "$ make TILES=y" I get the following response:

Make –C rltiles all ARCH=mingw32 TILES=y
Make[1]: Entering directory ´/git/crawl/crawl-ref/source/rltiles´
Make[1]: Leaving directory ´/git/crawl/crawl-ref/source/rltiles´


This has been going on for a couple weeks now. Why isn´t it working?

Ziggurat Zagger

Posts: 3163

Joined: Friday, 6th January 2012, 18:45

Post Saturday, 12th October 2013, 01:32

Re: Can´t seem to update git on W7

I'm assuming after that it just stops? Is the '$' part of your command? If so, why?

Did you run these steps?
  Code:
cd crawl
git submodule update --init
User avatar

Dungeon Master

Posts: 4031

Joined: Thursday, 16th December 2010, 20:37

Location: France

Post Saturday, 12th October 2013, 07:56

Re: Can´t seem to update git on W7

Did it used to work? Stopped working after an update? Try make clean
<+Grunt> You dereference an invalid pointer! Ouch! That really hurt! The game dies...

Spider Stomper

Posts: 233

Joined: Saturday, 18th February 2012, 04:40

Post Saturday, 12th October 2013, 18:54

Re: Can´t seem to update git on W7

Sorry I should have been clearer. Yes it used to work, I usually get this response after a few weeks using git and then just do a clean insteall. The $ isnt part of the command line “make TILES=y”.

I see now that the problem actually starts with the “git pull” command, changes to the init files give me an error and a request for a merge or a stash. I have to read more about this in the git Manual and learn how to else I´ll keep on repeating this cycle.

Ziggurat Zagger

Posts: 3163

Joined: Friday, 6th January 2012, 18:45

Post Saturday, 12th October 2013, 22:58

Re: Can´t seem to update git on W7

What I do to handle init changes is to edit the init.txt file in crawl-ref/settings with the line:
  Code:
include = ../source/settings/init.txt

(I run my executable right out of the source folder.)
Put any customizations in the init.txt file in crawl-ref/source/settings.

Then from the command line:
  Code:
commit -a -m "local init.txt changes"
That should get pulls working again and keep git from complaining about unstaged changes every time you edit the other init.txt file.

For this message the author BlackSheep has received thanks:
graffen69

Spider Stomper

Posts: 233

Joined: Saturday, 18th February 2012, 04:40

Post Sunday, 13th October 2013, 01:26

Re: Can´t seem to update git on W7

There’s only a macro.txt file in crawl-ref/source/settings. Should I copy the init.txt file from in crawl-ref/setting?
I run my exe file from C:\msysgit\git\crawl\crawl-ref\source\crawl.exe so I’m guessing I have to include the longer path in the init file?

I read some in git help mentioning the ignore command, but is this another way of doing the same thing?

Ziggurat Zagger

Posts: 3163

Joined: Friday, 6th January 2012, 18:45

Post Sunday, 13th October 2013, 02:20

Re: Can´t seem to update git on W7

You can create a new file or copy the other one. I believe you can use the relative path I provided to include the new file.

.gitignore is for files in the project structure that you don't want tracked. The crawl-ref/source/settings folder isn't part of the project, so you don't need to worry about adding files to it.

Spider Stomper

Posts: 233

Joined: Saturday, 18th February 2012, 04:40

Post Sunday, 13th October 2013, 03:55

Re: Can´t seem to update git on W7

BlackSheep wrote:You can create a new file or copy the other one. I believe you can use the relative path I provided to include the new file.


Alright i copy´d the init.txt file after including "../source/settings/init.txt" in it to the crawl-ref/source/settings folder, but after writing the
Commit -a -m "local init.txt changes"
command line i get this message:

bash: commit: command not found

Then i tried a normal update with cd git/crawl command and later git pull command to get the error message about "merge and commit needed". So i did the same line again,

Commit -a -m "local init.txt changes" and get the same response again:
bash: commit: command not found

I´m at a loss, where did i go wrong?

Dungeon Master

Posts: 1613

Joined: Thursday, 16th December 2010, 21:54

Post Sunday, 13th October 2013, 04:10

Re: Can´t seem to update git on W7

git commit, not commit.

For this message the author Kate has received thanks:
graffen69
User avatar

Dungeon Master

Posts: 4031

Joined: Thursday, 16th December 2010, 20:37

Location: France

Post Sunday, 13th October 2013, 07:45

Re: Can´t seem to update git on W7

Another way is to run crawl with the -dir option. This allows you to keep settings and save out of the source folder. Or when you compile, do a "make install TILES=y DESTDIR=/c/crawl" to actually install the game somewhere else. Yet another way is to include an option file without messing with your source folder: run crawl with --extra-opt-last include=/c/somewhere/init.txt.
<+Grunt> You dereference an invalid pointer! Ouch! That really hurt! The game dies...

For this message the author galehar has received thanks:
graffen69

Ziggurat Zagger

Posts: 3163

Joined: Friday, 6th January 2012, 18:45

Post Sunday, 13th October 2013, 14:28

Re: Can´t seem to update git on W7

Doh, git commit, my bad.

Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 46 guests

cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.