Disable movement when monster present


Problems running or configuring the software, commands & options, compiling, different platforms, using the interface, documentation, etc.

Roy

Snake Sneak

Posts: 106

Joined: Sunday, 1st January 2012, 01:28

Post Sunday, 1st January 2012, 01:30

Disable movement when monster present

I like how auto-explore and running (shift-direction) are disabled when a monster is present. Is there any way to get the normal movement keys to do this, and then to create alternate keys (say, alt-direction) to force a move in that direction?
User avatar

Snake Sneak

Posts: 105

Joined: Friday, 17th December 2010, 15:59

Location: Cincinnati, OH, USA

Post Sunday, 1st January 2012, 06:07

Re: Disable movement when monster present

Wouldn't that be horribly awkward? Oh, I see a goblin six squares to the west, so now I can't just run up and attack him, I have to hold ALT while doing so! And the same goes for running away...
The Ed draws near! What dost thou deaux?

For this message the author ekolis has received thanks:
MyOtheHedgeFox

Roy

Snake Sneak

Posts: 106

Joined: Sunday, 1st January 2012, 01:28

Post Sunday, 1st January 2012, 15:47

Re: Disable movement when monster present

I don't think holding ALT while pressing 4 is very difficult, but I can see that this could get tiresome if you are fighting for a while. Perhaps there could be some sort of mode to switch between my suggestion and normal operation? Alternatively, I would be interested in the opposite of what I suggested - holding down ALT to warn before moving.
User avatar

Crypt Cleanser

Posts: 644

Joined: Wednesday, 14th September 2011, 09:36

Location: <---

Post Sunday, 1st January 2012, 20:30

Re: Disable movement when monster present

Hold Shift ;)

Roy

Snake Sneak

Posts: 106

Joined: Sunday, 1st January 2012, 01:28

Post Monday, 2nd January 2012, 07:28

Re: Disable movement when monster present

Yes, this does what I want, except that it moves many tiles. Is there any way to get it to move one tile? (I still like having the option of running, so I don't want to set the maximum run distance to 1.)

zrn

User avatar

Snake Sneak

Posts: 112

Joined: Friday, 25th February 2011, 01:38

Post Friday, 6th January 2012, 10:14

Re: Disable movement when monster present

Roy wrote:Yes, this does what I want, except that it moves many tiles. Is there any way to get it to move one tile? (I still like having the option of running, so I don't want to set the maximum run distance to 1.)

Actually, that doesn't sound so bad even if I have to get rid of running. Is there a way to change the max distance you run to 1?

Roy

Snake Sneak

Posts: 106

Joined: Sunday, 1st January 2012, 01:28

Post Sunday, 6th January 2013, 04:09

Re: Disable movement when monster present

If someone (say, I) were to write a patch to implement this, is there a reasonable chance this would be accepted by the developers?
User avatar

Slime Squisher

Posts: 405

Joined: Thursday, 1st March 2012, 01:42

Post Tuesday, 8th January 2013, 20:06

Re: Disable movement when monster present

Roy wrote:If someone (say, I) were to write a patch to implement this, is there a reasonable chance this would be accepted by the developers?


I have no clue, but I see no reason why they wouldn't put it in and keep it disabled by default, making it possible to change via the settings.

Maybe it should be modal, like in cataclysm, where you switch safe mod on and off by pressing a key, so you didnt have to press it all the time.

Still kinda bothersome though
User avatar

Dungeon Master

Posts: 4031

Joined: Thursday, 16th December 2010, 20:37

Location: France

Post Tuesday, 8th January 2013, 23:31

Re: Disable movement when monster present

Wouldn't it be better to just use force_more_message = comes? into view
<+Grunt> You dereference an invalid pointer! Ouch! That really hurt! The game dies...

zrn

User avatar

Snake Sneak

Posts: 112

Joined: Friday, 25th February 2011, 01:38

Post Monday, 14th January 2013, 02:57

Re: Disable movement when monster present

modifier + movement or a toggle for safe movement would have a much different (better) effect than forcing more every time you see a new creature. I don't think adding this feature is necessary for crawl to be a great game. But I do think that if this feature was to be added, a fair share of people would have a better crawl experience for it. I've been wanting this feature pretty much since I started playing. Seriously if someone could code an option like max_run_distance that can be set to one I would be a very happy man.

Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.