How to disable 'o' for autoexploring?


Problems running or configuring the software, commands & options, compiling, different platforms, using the interface, documentation, etc.

Spider Stomper

Posts: 236

Joined: Thursday, 2nd August 2012, 18:53

Post Sunday, 25th November 2012, 20:26

How to disable 'o' for autoexploring?

How can I prevent autoexploring the level by accidently hitting 'o'? I found this function somewhere and added it to my rc-file, unfortunately it doesn't work.

  Code:
# added from mageykun, 22.09.12, doesn't work
{
function confirm_autoexplore()
    crawl.formatted_mpr("Really autoexplore?", "prompt")
    local res = crawl.getch()
    if string.lower(string.char(res)) == "y" then
        crawl.sendkeys("o")
    end
end
}

What's wrong with it? Could there be a problem with other lines of the rc?

Or is there another solution to prevent accidental autoexploring?

Dungeon Master

Posts: 553

Joined: Wednesday, 22nd December 2010, 10:12

Post Sunday, 25th November 2012, 22:50

Re: How to disable 'o' for autoexploring?

Turgon wrote:How can I prevent autoexploring the level by accidently hitting 'o'? I found this function somewhere and added it to my rc-file, unfortunately it doesn't work.

  Code:
# added from mageykun, 22.09.12, doesn't work
{
function confirm_autoexplore()
    crawl.formatted_mpr("Really autoexplore?", "prompt")
    local res = crawl.getch()
    if string.lower(string.char(res)) == "y" then
        crawl.sendkeys("o")
    end
end
}

What's wrong with it? Could there be a problem with other lines of the rc?

Or is there another solution to prevent accidental autoexploring?

The script works but you need to actually bind it to a key to use it. Press ~ to make a macro, choose 'o', and set it to "===confirm_autoexplore" (without quotes). Make sure you save your macros after doing this.

For this message the author evilmike has received thanks:
Turgon
User avatar

Crypt Cleanser

Posts: 645

Joined: Wednesday, 14th September 2011, 09:36

Location: <---

Post Tuesday, 11th December 2012, 04:11

Re: How to disable 'o' for autoexploring?

Why not simply bind it to shift or ctrl +o?

bindkey = [^O] CMD_EXPLORE

Tartarus Sorceror

Posts: 1776

Joined: Monday, 21st February 2011, 15:57

Location: South Carolina

Post Tuesday, 11th December 2012, 11:47

Re: How to disable 'o' for autoexploring?

Ctrl-o is the dungeon overview, which too important to lose. Without shift-O, opening doors is just as difficult as walking.
User avatar

Crypt Cleanser

Posts: 645

Joined: Wednesday, 14th September 2011, 09:36

Location: <---

Post Tuesday, 11th December 2012, 18:01

Re: How to disable 'o' for autoexploring?

Then rebind the dugeon overview to O ;). (In fact it was like that in Crawl pre 4.0)

Spider Stomper

Posts: 236

Joined: Thursday, 2nd August 2012, 18:53

Post Wednesday, 12th December 2012, 11:38

Yes, bindkey should be another option. Thanks for all of your answers.

Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 41 guests

cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.