Trouble compiling crawl-tiles on PCLinuxOS

Problems running or configuring the software, commands & options, compiling, different platforms, using the interface, documentation, etc.

Dungeon Dilettante

Post Saturday, 5th November 2011, 12:07

Trouble compiling crawl-tiles on PCLinuxOS

Hello all,

I will start right out the gate -- is it even possible to run Crawl (Tiles version preferably) on PCLinuxOS?

If the answer to that is 'no' then the rest of this could probably be ignored =D

However, if it's possible to build and play crawl-tiles on that distro, then I've a few questions, and any assistance is appreciated.

Right now I've been trying to build crawl on PCLinuxOS and been having a heck of a time doing this--I am obviously not understanding something, but I'm pretty new to Linux anyway, and brand new to this distro, so that is certainly no surprise.

Before I go into a book on what I've tried so far (it's a lot of stuff), perhaps the easiest thing would be to ask if a good, comprehensive FAQ/guide exists on properly compiling crawl on a non-Debian distro, if such a guide exists. So far, the texts I've found for trying to run crawl have a lot of gaps and inconsistencies and I think I might just be making things worse lol

If nothing specific like that exists, then briefly (I can provide more details if needed of course):

I downloaded the source code tarball and I have been able to successfully unpackage that, and obtain git, and I can make it through the 'git clone' and 'git submodule' steps, which seems to successfully build the crawl-ref directory with source, but when I attempt the 'make TILES=yes' step, the errors come. I've had it fail most often with SDL_image.h but after many grueling attempts to wrangle in SDL on the machine, installing what I think is the correct files for the SDL_image, I still cannot make crawl happy. I've done many other things, but again, the details would be a lot and I don't want to over due it.