Can't compile Stone Soup a second time?

Problems running or configuring the software, commands & options, compiling, different platforms, using the interface, documentation, etc.

Dungeon Dilettante

Post Monday, 17th October 2011, 01:45

Can't compile Stone Soup a second time?

So I'm fairly new to Linux and was messing around with compiling my first program from source: Stone Soup! After installing all the dependencies, I was able to compile and play the tiles version perfectly. I ended up deleting the compiled program and source because I wanted to compile it without wizard mode. Thing is, after downloading and attempting to compile the source again, I get this nice block of errors.

anthony@linux-dx5l:~/bin/stone_soup-0.9.1/source> make TILES=Y
which: no advpng in (/home/anthony/bin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/bin/X11:/usr/X11R6/bin:/usr/games:/usr/lib64/jvm/jre/bin)
which: no pngcrush in (/home/anthony/bin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/bin/X11:/usr/X11R6/bin:/usr/games:/usr/lib64/jvm/jre/bin)
make: *** contrib: No such file or directory. Stop.
make: *** [.contrib-libs] Error 2
anthony@linux-dx5l:~/bin/stone_soup-0.9.1/source>

I don't know what this means or how I might go about fixing it, other than that apparently something the compiler expects to find is not there. Any help is much appreciated.

Dungeon Master

Post Monday, 17th October 2011, 20:48

Re: Can't compile Stone Soup a second time?

It's looking for contribs. Install them with this command:

Code:
git submodule update --init

(no idea how you were able to compile it without contribs the first time)
<+Grunt> You dereference an invalid pointer! Ouch! That really hurt! The game dies...

Dungeon Dilettante

Post Monday, 17th October 2011, 23:41

Well, after learning what git is and how to use it, I was able to successfully compile the source again. Much thanks!