How does the code 'know' to do things?

Although the central place for design discussion is ##crawl-dev on freenode, some may find it helpful to discuss requests and suggestions here first.

Halls Hopper

Post Saturday, 25th May 2019, 14:36

How does the code 'know' to do things?

I didn't know where to post this question as I am not technically asking for advice.

How does this game know what items to give to the player as well as know the precise amount of hurdles the player can handle?

I downloaded all the game's code a couple of months ago, yet looking over it, I didn't understand the method. Is there some sort of deep Maths behind it all? I have played this game so often I actually find my self 99% of the time accurately predicting which unidentified items I have in my inventory and what hurdles I will be running into.

Ziggurat Zagger

Post Saturday, 25th May 2019, 20:14

Re: How does the code 'know' to do things?

HawkI wrote:I didn't know where to post this question as I am not technically asking for advice.

How does this game know what items to give to the player as well as know the precise amount of hurdles the player can handle?

I downloaded all the game's code a couple of months ago, yet looking over it, I didn't understand the method. Is there some sort of deep Maths behind it all? I have played this game so often I actually find my self 99% of the time accurately predicting which unidentified items I have in my inventory and what hurdles I will be running into.

The game doesn't actually dynamically scale itself to the player. It's got a set scale, the monsters and items have certain odds of being generated on certain ranges of dungeon levels.