About Scarves, and Bucklers

Although the central place for design discussion is ##crawl-dev on freenode, some may find it helpful to discuss requests and suggestions here first.

Temple Termagant

Post Monday, 10th April 2017, 16:05

About Scarves, and Bucklers

I've been playing for close to 4 years, and I've always loved the game.
I, while making no claim to game design expertise,and particularly fond of RPGs and the level of balance put into this game is commendable.
THAT SAID!!

I feel like scarves for RC should offer two pips of resistance.
Considering there are cloaks that offer the exact same 1 pip, along with potentially 3 AC, scarves should have something that makes them stand out as a mid/late game choice.
Also, on a lesser note, No-cloak classes should reasonably be able to wear a scarf.

Essentially, my idea with bucklers is the same, though there are a lot of reasons to argue for/against it.
Considering they offer less defenses than other shields, shields that only offer 1 of a specific resistance should also offer 1 extra pip in comparison to the bigger shields. In exchange, the reflection ego could be taken away from all bucklers. (sans wizards mirror) This should give people incentive to use the smaller shields/scarves in rounding out their kit. ALSO!! It will make monsters who have these equipment more difficult to kill with 1 school of magic, granted the resistances match.scarf dcss

I will however admit that an early find for items of these nature could grant a huge boost to survivability against specific monsters of the same element as the resistance-thought i feel like this is more a hedge issue rather than a huge one.

Ziggurat Zagger

Post Monday, 10th April 2017, 19:43

Re: About Scarves, and Bucklers

I think the resistance egos are only on scarves as placeholders, there's no way the resistance ego (let alone cold resistance) is anywhere close to the value of spirit shield or rmsl.

For this message the author duvessa has received thanks: