Suggestion: Add hit damage values to message line

Although the central place for design discussion is ##crawl-dev on freenode, some may find it helpful to discuss requests and suggestions here first.

How

Temple Termagant

Post Wednesday, 5th October 2016, 18:00

Suggestion: Add hit damage values to message line

Hey I'm relatively new to dcss first playing in May of this year *nods*. However, I will add that I was born in the 70's, so (like the other "old timers" on here :)), I've been one of the fortunate ones to be able to witness and participate in every era of electronic gaming since its infancy. Having said that, I have a few suggestions for the game, but would like to start with the simplest and easiest suggestion to make. So much so, it's had to have been suggested before; or, was included, then taken out.

The suggestion of course is in the thread title: Let's add the hit damage values per hit to the message line!!! It can even be set off in its own cool, unique color!

Let me list the pros and sell it real quick:

1) Clears up all the confusion in one swoop. I have already seen people sound confused as to how to figure what weapon to go for as to what damage they'll be able to do with it. I myself have found it more than a little frustrating and it reminds me of my beloved old Ultimas of only being able to see vague messages like lightly wounded, heavily wounded etc. to indicate the damage one is doing with a weapon they're wielding. Who else goes to lair and compare/contrasts two weapons on a group of poor plants? lol Getting a steady damage count for every hit would cure all of this without taking a single thing away. I'm talking really being able to fine-tune one's understanding and mastery of their weapons vs the confused, half-assed path.