Make stat increases require capitals


Although the central place for design discussion is ##crawl-dev on freenode, some may find it helpful to discuss requests and suggestions here first.

User avatar

Ziggurat Zagger

Posts: 4358

Joined: Wednesday, 23rd October 2013, 07:56

Post Sunday, 11th September 2016, 21:35

Make stat increases require capitals

Just happened to me that I was in Elf:3 letting my allies do most of the killing. So I pressed a lot of 's' and occasionally space to clear the message spam. Suddenly I realized that I had gained a level and chosen Str by accident.

So maybe the level-up stat increases could require capital 'S', 'I' or 'D' to prevent accidents like this?

(Or maybe just remove the 's' command and force me to use '.' instead for waiting... But anyway stat selection is a rare enough event to require capitals imo.)
DCSS: 77: ...SpWz{OgGlTrMo}{CeWnMfBeMiSk}DrEE{GrFiFoGl}DgEnFeNe{OpGlHuSu}DDAr
HaCKSpAEGrTmDgFEDsCjGhMoHuVM{HaAMBaEn}{HuMoHOWn}DsWzDDHu{DgWnGnBe}FeIE
{MiEnMfCj}SpNeBaEEGrFE{HaAKTrCK}DsFESpHu{FoArNaBe}FeEE{HOIEMiAE}GrGlHuWrGnWr
Bloat: 4: RaRoPrPh{GuStGnCa

For this message the author Sprucery has received thanks: 12
and into, duvessa, ManMan, Moose, nago, runewalsh, Seven Deadly Sins, VeryAngryFelid, ydeve, yesno and 2 more users

Dungeon Master

Posts: 3618

Joined: Thursday, 23rd December 2010, 12:43

Post Monday, 12th September 2016, 00:39

Re: Make stat increases require capitals

As a workaround, you can map 's' to a non-command.

Lair Larrikin

Posts: 22

Joined: Thursday, 24th March 2011, 15:25

Post Monday, 12th September 2016, 14:01

Re: Make stat increases require capitals

Same has happened to me on occasion, when casting spells in the 'd' slot.

Sar

User avatar

Ziggurat Zagger

Posts: 6418

Joined: Friday, 6th July 2012, 12:48

Post Monday, 12th September 2016, 14:18

Re: Make stat increases require capitals

Well, at least you raised Dex...

For this message the author Sar has received thanks: 3
and into, Implojin, nago
User avatar

Tartarus Sorceror

Posts: 1693

Joined: Saturday, 18th June 2016, 13:57

Post Monday, 12th September 2016, 14:33

Re: Make stat increases require capitals

Uh, I always use shift+D. You can actually just press D?
I Feel the Need--the Need for Beer
Spoiler: show
3DSBeTr 15DSFiRu 3DSMoNe 3FoHuGo 3TrArOk 3HOFEVe 3MfGlOk 4GrEEVe 3BaIEChei 3HuMoOka 3MiWnQaz 3VSFiAsh 3DrTmMakh 3DSCKXom 3OgMoOka 3NaFiOka 3FoFiOka 3MuFEVeh 3CeHuOka 3TrMoTSO 3DEFESif 3DSMoOka 3DSFiOka

Dungeon Master

Posts: 1050

Joined: Thursday, 12th June 2014, 05:19

Post Tuesday, 13th September 2016, 04:33

Re: Make stat increases require capitals

why is 's' even bound to wait in the first place?

Tomb Titivator

Posts: 885

Joined: Sunday, 28th June 2015, 14:44

Post Tuesday, 13th September 2016, 05:02

Re: Make stat increases require capitals

PleasingFungus wrote:why is 's' even bound to wait in the first place?

Nethack uses 's' for search. Since 's'earching was strictly better than '.'(waiting), players got into the habit of pressing 's' instead of '.'. I suppose this was true in DCSS as well, back in the day when 's'earching was a thing.

Slime Squisher

Posts: 395

Joined: Monday, 28th April 2014, 19:50

Post Tuesday, 13th September 2016, 05:36

Re: Make stat increases require capitals

ydeve wrote:
PleasingFungus wrote:why is 's' even bound to wait in the first place?

Nethack uses 's' for search. Since 's'earching was strictly better than '.'(waiting), players got into the habit of pressing 's' instead of '.'. I suppose this was true in DCSS as well, back in the day when 's'earching was a thing.


It wasn't strictly better. If you search while standing next to a mimic, you anger it and cause it to attack you. So while search is almost always the better choice, to pass a turn while inside a shop you want to use '.' instead.

Yeah this is pretty dumb, and Dynahack/possibly Nethack4 removed that mimic interaction to allow people to completely abandon the wait command forever.

Ziggurat Zagger

Posts: 8782

Joined: Sunday, 5th May 2013, 08:25

Post Tuesday, 13th September 2016, 05:50

Re: Make stat increases require capitals

ydeve wrote:
PleasingFungus wrote:why is 's' even bound to wait in the first place?

Nethack uses 's' for search. Since 's'earching was strictly better than '.'(waiting), players got into the habit of pressing 's' instead of '.'. I suppose this was true in DCSS as well, back in the day when 's'earching was a thing.
Back when 's'earching was a thing, '.' and '5' also searched.

Return to Game Design Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.