Floor bonuses

Although the central place for design discussion is ##crawl-dev on freenode, some may find it helpful to discuss requests and suggestions here first.

Bim

Crypt Cleanser

Post Wednesday, 5th January 2011, 16:14

Floor bonuses

Hello! First time post as this is my first time here.
I mentioned this before in chat at one point and got a few positive responses so thought I'd post it here.

I've always thought that different floor tiles should have different bonuses/nerfs to stealth/ev depending on char. type/equipment. I thought this could be a way of helping stealth chars. which can be a bit weak later on, but also leading to more careful play at times. The place I've had most problem with stealth chars. is in the branches in which they tend to have large open spaces and no where to retreat too, this is why they've mainly be bonuses but others may disagree.

Here was what I thought, although I really don't have the experience in all the intricacies of crawl that some people do and I'm sure people could think of better categories!

Normal floor tile - no bonus/nerf
Grass (lair) - small stealth bonus too all except nerf for naga (swishing grass maybe? or maybe the other way round?)
smooth stone (eleven halls, possibly vault?) - big bonus to naga and smaller bonus for if wearing boots(elven boots for elven halls?).
sand (shaols, pits) - small bonus to all, small EV nerf (unsteady footing)
rough stone (orcmines/Tartarus) - small nerf to all stealth, but possibly slight ev bonus? (easier to get footing?).