Death Cobs in .17

Although the central place for design discussion is ##crawl-dev on freenode, some may find it helpful to discuss requests and suggestions here first.

Temple Termagant

Post Wednesday, 16th December 2015, 06:23

Death Cobs in .17

I'll throw down the character dump, and then hopefully explain why I feel this shouldn't have happened.

http://dobrazupa.org/morgue/suldrek/mor ... 020222.txt

First of all, I've been having issues with these new Death Cobs in every single game I've made it to Zot since I started playing again. I understand they were basically xp fodder before - I really do - and I appreciate their threat level being changed. But I think it has been taken a little too far.

Even while hasted, I can go from very hungry, eat a meat ration, up to full/normal satiation, and then back to very hungry or even starving in combat with one of these things (over the course of eating.) In this example, I died because of the starvation. Nothing I could do - I waited 1 turn to see what would come out after I came down the stairwell, got shifted, moved back to the stairwell to go up, got shifted again, surrounded (death cob adjacent) one round follows, starvation/unconscious, dead. I didn't really have the turns to do anything to save myself here, which makes it feel like a very hollow death.