"Of the Transmuter" Fixedart(s)

Although the central place for design discussion is ##crawl-dev on freenode, some may find it helpful to discuss requests and suggestions here first.

Temple Termagant

Post Tuesday, 18th August 2015, 20:55

"Of the Transmuter" Fixedart(s)

I've been tossing this idea around in my head for a few months now, and I figured I should put it here to see if the general crawl population likes it.

Gloves/Boots/Hat of the Transmuter - fixed artefact

+1 gloves/boots/hat
rCorr

The [name] are magically enchanted to take to shape of whatever form fills them.

This would effectively give a possible +1/+2 defense to races that normally do not have the access to the specified armor slot, but the more unique aspect would be that they would not meld with the character during transmutations. So blade hands / beastly appendage / dragon form / spider form / ice form would gain a small AC boost. This would be a moderately nice find for Tengu, Octopodes, Felids, or Demonspawn with body mutations.

I believe this kind of item properly fits the niche usage meant for fixedarts and gives heavy transmuters a small defensive boost.

For this message the author BeardTony has received thanks:
Berder

Ziggurat Zagger

Post Tuesday, 18th August 2015, 21:01

Re: "Of the Transmuter" Fixedart(s)

I like it, although I'm not sure if devs would want to add 3 fixedarts with mostly the same behavior, it might work better as just gloves (seems to be the most thematic transmuter slot, and is melded by the most forms).

Might buff it slightly to be +2 or 3 gloves (rCorr). They'd be useful to other characters as well then, but remain most beneficial to transmuters. I assume we'd allow claws to go through the gloves, which would also make it very strong on trolls/ghouls.

Octopodes and felids would still not be able to use them, as they don't have glove slots? I guess you could go either way on this.

Temple Termagant

Post Tuesday, 18th August 2015, 21:40