Player Ghosts - What's the incentive?

Although the central place for design discussion is ##crawl-dev on freenode, some may find it helpful to discuss requests and suggestions here first.

Halls Hopper

Post Friday, 29th April 2011, 12:44

Player Ghosts - What's the incentive?

I am relatively new to Dungeon Crawl and so far it is my favorite roguelike - there is, however, one disadvantage over similar roguelikes, f.e. Nethack: I have no gain from the player ghosts. Since I am mostly playing offline (when commuting by train), I am only playing with my ghosts and for that the risk/reward ratio is way too high. What incentive is there to keep me from cheating and regularly deleting my ghost files?

Shoals Surfer

Post Friday, 29th April 2011, 12:56

Re: Player Ghosts - What's the incentive?

I don't understand why people delete their bone files in the 1st place. Ghosts are either free xp or nuisances that can be skipped. If you can't handle a ghost you can just leave the level. They can't follow you between levels, and if you win (or die) on a different level they are deleted.

Tartarus Sorceror

Post Friday, 29th April 2011, 13:30

I've gained two levels at once before from killing a player ghost on D:3. It's good experience and a nice change of pace.

Online, it makes things more interesting because you never know exactly what abilities that ghost will have.

Mines Malingerer

Post Friday, 29th April 2011, 14:15

Their strength varies too much.
If the player was a Hunter, they are free XP(no weapon), if the player was a Draconian Transmuter, they can ranged-drain you and Mephitic Cloud you (how the hell do they cast Evaporate without material components?).
They make the game too easy for Necromancers (a couple casts of Dispel Undead) and too hard for MC users(immune to poison).

Snake Sneak

Post Friday, 29th April 2011, 15:01

I actually wonder why hunter ghosts can't shoot at the player. It would be more interesting. Ghosts shouldn't be just free xp.