Should Hell and Pan be mutually exclusive?

Although the central place for design discussion is ##crawl-dev on freenode, some may find it helpful to discuss requests and suggestions here first.

Mines Malingerer

Post Sunday, 14th September 2014, 23:46

Should Hell and Pan be mutually exclusive?

I typically don't do the postgame. There's two main reasons for this. One, some characters just can't hack it. If I've wrapped up the normal game and don't have rMut and only one pip of rF, I'm not really in the mood to set that character into the abyss, hell, or pan.

But the second reason is the main reason why I don't do it: I find it tedious and boring. It's very long; it's very similar (demons demons demons hellfire torment torment smite); because it's very similar it encourages similar tactics (zin/TSO or necro mutation, holy wrath melee murder machine or Firestorm/Tornado/Glaciate); and it's just not that much fun.

Since I started playing DCSS (0.3.3), a lot of the game has been shortened. Vaults went from 8 to 5, Elf went from 5 to 3, Lair went from 10 to 8, Dungeon went from 27 to 15 + 5 Depths, and Crypt went from 5 to 3. I personally believe every one of those changes made the game better. No shortening has been applied to the end game; indeed, pan and abyss are infinite (an issue in itself, especially as to the former).

I understand that the bulk of development is (and should be) geared towards a 3 rune perspective, since that's what most players see, but I think some attention to this is worthwhile. I think as a first step, Hell/Pan should be mutually exclusive, so you only get one but not both in any game. That would make a complete win go from 15 to 11 runes. What do other people think?

Ziggurat Zagger

Post Monday, 15th September 2014, 00:30

Re: Should Hell and Pan be mutually exclusive?