Game Design History Question re:Identify

Although the central place for design discussion is ##crawl-dev on freenode, some may find it helpful to discuss requests and suggestions here first.

Crypt Cleanser

Post Saturday, 26th July 2014, 18:50

Game Design History Question re:Identify

Just a simple question about this aspect of the game's design.

I am quite new to Crawl. I first downloaded and played 0.13 locally several months ago, then played 0.14 on webtiles, and am now playing trunk on the same. I am completely in the dark about the evolution of this current version of the game.

My question is: why is there no identify spell? I'm imagining that there was, once, long ago, since all the roguelikes that inspired it had one, but that it was removed for certain reasons. It is those reasons I seek. But even if my first assumption is incorrect (as it so often is), and identify has never been a spell in this game, then what is the reason for it not being so? Surely, it has been suggested at least once, then, and turned down for certain reasons that I'd also be interested in reading. Any links to prior discussions would be appreciated, if anyone remembers anything specific.

My google fu is fine, but trying to search for threads on this is seemingly fruitless, given the ubiquity of the possible keywords.

Thanks.

Slime Squisher

Post Saturday, 26th July 2014, 19:04

Re: Game Design History Question re:Identify

There used to be a divination school of magic which was removed for being stupid and encouraging boring tactics

An identify spell would add essentially nothing to the game and is also redundant with scrolls

For this message the author One-Eyed Jack has received thanks: 2
Aule, duvessa

Ziggurat Zagger

Post Saturday, 26th July 2014, 19:10