Vampiric message rewording

Although the central place for design discussion is ##crawl-dev on freenode, some may find it helpful to discuss requests and suggestions here first.

Sar

Ziggurat Zagger

Post Thursday, 27th March 2014, 09:05

Vampiric message rewording

Code:
As you grasp it, you feel a great hunger. Being not satiated, you stop.

I've seen new players misinterpreting it at least three times. And by "misinterpreting" I mean "I can't ever wield vampiric weapons, help". I think the confusion stems from the fact that you aren't really "hungry" when your status bar lacks "Hungry"? Either way, it could be reworded in a more blunt way (I'm not good at it, though), or perhaps it should be allowed to wield vamp weapons at "normal" satiation, dropping you all the way to "Near Starving".

For this message the author Sar has received thanks: 7
dpeg, DracheReborn, duvessa, Lyrick, nago, Sandman25, tedric

Tomb Titivator

Post Thursday, 27th March 2014, 12:21

Re: Vampiric message rewording

Yeah, that has to be one of the more opaque messages in crawl.

I'd go for something direct like "You need to be Full or above to wield this weapon" (compare to "You can't wield that with a shield."). Another alternative is a prompt, e.g. "Wielding this weapon will greatly reduce your satiation level, are you sure?" which would work with Sar's second option, but this seems more annoying.

Dungeon Master

Post Thursday, 27th March 2014, 13:26

Regarding the proposal to allow wielding vampiric weapons at less than Full, I always assumed that the intention behind the current behavior is to force most races to use up permafood as part of the equip cost.

For this message the author Lasty has received thanks:
bcadren

Slime Squisher

Post Thursday, 27th March 2014, 13:36

If current message is a problem, then it should be fixed (although for me it is clear enough).