Thanks, Taverners! (first rune)

Ask fellow adventurers how to stay alive in the deep, dark, dangerous dungeon below, or share your own accumulated wisdom.

Lair Larrikin

Post Friday, 15th March 2013, 15:06

Thanks, Taverners! (first rune)

This is going to seem woefully non-eventful to those who've won the game, but I just got my first rune, and I'm genuinely excited.

I've been playing RLs since 1990 and DCSS for years, without much success. Then started to ask for help on the predecessor to this board. Lately, thanks to the various threads here, I'm getting far more out of the game.

Thanks, community. :0)

Update Dec 2016: First win! Lesson - don't give up. If you're really bad it might take years, but it is winnable by even the worst player.
Last edited by Trobe on Wednesday, 14th December 2016, 12:06, edited 1 time in total.

Vaults Vanquisher

Post Friday, 15th March 2013, 15:10

Re: Thanks, Taverners! (first rune)

Grats man, first rune is a pretty big milestone and often ends up also turning into your first win. Let us know how it turns out.
kekekela is my in-game name

For this message the author battaile has received thanks:
Trobe

Lair Larrikin

Post Friday, 15th March 2013, 16:35

battaile wrote:Grats man, first rune is a pretty big milestone

It was a real shock. I was just thinking the nest was getting tough, and after this level I'd go back to the vaults, or the main dungeon. Then there it was.

Unarmed Combat 27.0

Post Friday, 15th March 2013, 20:05