Deleting player ghosts

Ask fellow adventurers how to stay alive in the deep, dark, dangerous dungeon below, or share your own accumulated wisdom.

Lair Larrikin

Post Thursday, 1st November 2012, 04:30

Deleting player ghosts

I'm pretty new to Crawl and a fairly crappy player (my greatest claim is a MiBe with three runes that I'm too scared to play). It still takes me a few attempts to get a new character off the ground; just recently this resulted in my very exciting HOFE (found a ring of wizardry, a ring of magic power, and a staff of power, plus a Jiyva altar all within the first five floors...) getting nuked by a previous incarnation. I like the idea of a little persistence between games, but this is really a pain. Can I get rid of player ghosts by deleting the bones.* files in my saves directory, and is there a config setting which would prevent player ghosts entirely?

Crypt Cleanser

Post Thursday, 1st November 2012, 04:53

Re: Deleting player ghosts

You can't prevent your Ghosts from being made, but yes, you can delete the Bones files to get rid of them.

However, something you might do is attempt to clear out the ghosts yourself. Ghouls, Mummies, and Vampires never leave ghosts, and Berserker Background characters tend to do quite well in Ghost clean up - consider attempting to make some of these characters to destroy menacing ghosts. Of course if they are too hard for you to kill on purpose, then perhaps just forge ahead and come back to kill them later.
A Google Doc I wrote up in regards to making a new 'workable' definition for the Roguelike Genre:
Defining the Roguelike Genre

Lair Larrikin

Post Thursday, 1st November 2012, 05:01

Great, I'll do that. Yeah, running away has generally been my strategy. For various reasons the ghosts seem harder to shake. It seems like they always appear awake, unlike true uniques. Throwing a bunch of garbage characters through the grinder seems like a waste of time, and far too metagamey.

Vaults Vanquisher