Newbie question on dealing with first "immune" creatures

Ask fellow adventurers how to stay alive in the deep, dark, dangerous dungeon below, or share your own accumulated wisdom.

Dungeon Dilettante

Post Monday, 27th August 2012, 16:38

Newbie question on dealing with first "immune" creatures

Hi,

I'm pretty new to DCSS. I like to play Wz and FE quite a bit (their squishiness forces me to play cautiously), and had a question about dealing with immune creatures. When you run into creatures immune to your primary damage type (e.g., summoned imps for FE), what's the best way to deal with them? I would assume having melee or ranged weapons trained to a decent point would be useful, but this gets at the part of Crawl I find the most confusing: training skills. I see posts where people are told, "Oh, you've trained foo too much!", and because of this, I tend to be super cautious about how much I train particular skills. With FE, for example, I go Manual, and put my skill points into Dodging, Spellcasting, Conjurations, and Fire Magic. So when I get to a particular immune threat, I have some real trouble dealing with it.

How do you go about dealing with creatures immune to your primary damage type? Do you have other skills trained up to a certain level, and then turned off? What do you train?

My current best character is a TrMo, and is tearing through just about everything he meets (Sigmund, Grinder, etc., were all dispatched very quickly). However, I'm acutely aware that there are likely things I'm going to want to deal with from a distance, so I assume the above advice would apply to this char as well.

Thanks a lot in advance!

Ziggurat Zagger

Post Monday, 27th August 2012, 17:02

Re: Newbie question on dealing with first "immune" creatures