In need of advice for playing a Vampire Monk

Ask fellow adventurers how to stay alive in the deep, dark, dangerous dungeon below, or share your own accumulated wisdom.

Dungeon Dilettante

Post Friday, 4th February 2011, 10:28

In need of advice for playing a Vampire Monk

hello forum!

I recently started playing Crawl and fell in love with all the high proficient and fragile races, as always in rougelikes.
So I started playing deepelf and Kenku Wizards and always came to a point, where there HP potentials just broke my neck.
So I decided to not start as a spellcaster but rather start with a suficient meele Characterthat would develop magics later.

My choice is: Vampire Monk. Mainly because:
-Don´t have to watch for food all the day
-Decent aptitudes in relevant Skills
-good enough Aptitudes to develop Spellcasting, especialy Enchantments and transmutations, which will help unarmed combat later on i think
-Bat form

My playstyle until now:
-disable Stealth initially. It eats up EP and is rather good from the start anyways and develops even when turned off
-whack mosnters and suck on them ceeping me Full to regenerate faster
-until lvl 3, where I start transforming into a bat for exploration
-evade hard monsters like Ogres and Named till I feel confident enough to take on them

That worked mediocre for me now because:
-first levels depend on beeing lucky. Been annihilated by freaking bats on lvl 2 and such...
-Often I find myself unable to cope with tougher monsters because they just kick my ass unless...
-I find some nice Wand (Killed Sigmund with to Charges of a wand of draining, other time i transmuted him, and another time i enslaved him and let him be weakend by an orc mage)
-Spellcasters are a pain in the but. Without Mephitic Cloud they just have a sooo high damage potential... its insane.

So I need some advice on general playing behaviour and have some specific questions: