Stat Strategy ("stategy" as the Pros call it)

Ask fellow adventurers how to stay alive in the deep, dark, dangerous dungeon below, or share your own accumulated wisdom.

Tomb Titivator

Post Monday, 8th April 2019, 15:02

Stat Strategy ("stategy" as the Pros call it)

Okay so the shindig is, in previous versions of Crawl which stat to pick when given a choice on levelling up was either binary or a pretty simple flowchart. Has anything changed recently here? And whether it has or hasn't, what is the optimal "Stategy" for placing points? Or at least what are the big considerations?

Zot Zealot

Post Monday, 8th April 2019, 16:10

Re: Stat Strategy ("stategy" as the Pros call it)

I'm not a pro, but here are some of my considerations:
for non-hex spells, once spellpower reaches 50 (#####) Int becomes less important, because it won't affect spell power as much.
for spell success, strength is more important than int when strength<encumbrance, and less important otherwise.
I usually neglect one of my stats (strength, dex, or int)

I'm also curious what the pro's do.

Ziggurat Zagger

Post Monday, 8th April 2019, 16:17

Stats are somewhat clearer choices as compared to prior versions,

Strength adds to melee damage, and decreases ER from body armour (most importantly this lets you wear heavier armour and cast spells with higher success rates)
Int adds to spellpower and spell success rate
Dex adds to accuracy, Evasion and (slightly) to stabbing.
Strength and dex in equal measure impact your odds of scoring an aux attack (so if that's your rationale strength is better)
Shields are also impacted by strength and dex, to an extent that you shouldn't care about.

Dex no longer adds to weapon damage, and strength no longer adds to weapon accuracy.