Advice for melee extended

Ask fellow adventurers how to stay alive in the deep, dark, dangerous dungeon below, or share your own accumulated wisdom.

Lair Larrikin

Post Tuesday, 26th March 2019, 15:50

Advice for melee extended

Hi guys,

I have been playing crawl for over a year now. I am by no means an expert thoug, having won only 2 times, with an OP OpTm^Chei (15 runes) and a FoFi^Qazl (3 runes). My only experience of extended was over a year ago with that Octopode who was uber strong attack-wise, but also used lots of magic to easily survive all of extended. My Formicid, was also very strong (tabbed all the way to ZOT5) but a couple of sketchy situations in Abyss (lots of noise, no chance to rest) made me choose to get the orb and run.

This Time I made it till the end of Zot with a MiGl^Zin. I have found the new Singing sword on an early dungeon level and it literally obliterated everything (maybe a lil overpowered but still very much fun, so I wouldn't revert it back). I have just found the Zephyr bow and I have a triple sword of Holy Wrath for the extended.

char dump: https://crawl.xtahua.com/crawl/morgue/g ... cchini.txt

I am not sure how to approach this as a pure melee char like this. Should i switch to TSO? should I try to make magic castable or is it doable with just my consumables?

All advice on melee extended is very welcome.

Blades Runner

Post Tuesday, 26th March 2019, 16:09

Re: Advice for melee extended

TSO vs Zin is up to you, both are fine for extended. If you can get rN+++ I'd probably keep Zin, but that's partly just because of how much I hate mutations.