DD and Poor-Base-Type Vampiric Weapons

Ask fellow adventurers how to stay alive in the deep, dark, dangerous dungeon below, or share your own accumulated wisdom.

Tartarus Sorceror

Post Thursday, 29th March 2018, 19:37

DD and Poor-Base-Type Vampiric Weapons

I have a DDNe^Makh that took a +2 vampiric whip off a gnoll on D:3 and is now on D:6. This has gone very well so far, but even a vampiric whip will need to be upgraded sometime. I have little experience with DD; do I just stop using the whip when it stops healing me enough to stay ahead of fights? Should I train M&F or Axes later?
Won (52). Remaining (15): 5 species: Ba, Fe, Mu, Na, Op; 5 Backgrounds: AM, Wr, Su, AE, Ar; 5 gods: Jiyv, newNem, WJC, newSif, newFedh

Ziggurat Zagger

Post Thursday, 29th March 2018, 19:49

Re: DD and Poor-Base-Type Vampiric Weapons

The correct answer is also the worst one: You should be looking for a high damage endgame weapon, and train the skill of whatever the best one you have is. But you should swap weapons whenever you think there's something weak enough for the whip to handle. You want to judge every incoming monster as "will this deal more damage than my whip can heal me in killing it". Let's say you find a great mace and you're using that as your "damage" weapon. If you think you can kill a monster and take 5 damage, vs using the whip and take 15 damage but heal 11, then use the whip. If you think you'll take 15 but only heal 7, use the great mace.

Now predict this for every monster you fight! Have fun!