Total newbie advice

Ask fellow adventurers how to stay alive in the deep, dark, dangerous dungeon below, or share your own accumulated wisdom.

Dungeon Dilettante

Post Sunday, 14th August 2011, 03:02

Total newbie advice

Howdy!

I'm new to crawl (have played some ADOM and some TOME a while ago) and I get the impression I'm missing something. To keep it simple I always play Minotaur Berserker of Trog. Started around 50x maybe, didn't get past lvl 4 a single time. That's only half of the problem, though - I understand crawl is about dying a lot. But I don't feel I get any insights into what this game wants me to do - I press "o" > meet weak monster; kill > meet strong monster, try to run away, no fast enough, die.
So basically I'm running blindly around until I meet Sigmund or Grinder or an ogre or a pack of kobolds with poisoned darts ... ... and I don't feel I learn anything.

What I am missing?

Thanks guys

Blades Runner

Post Sunday, 14th August 2011, 03:21

Re: Total newbie advice

Try a kobold or troll (with claws)! They're easier than Minotaurs for me. You'll learn and have more fun if you stay alive longer, though you learn a lot from dying, too. Trolls are nice because there are fewer choices so you'll choose wrong less often.

Ideally you learn by not dying the same way again. But it's hard. I find Crawl to be good/frustrating because it's randomized and then re-randomized, so it can be especially hard to learn about things.

Are you using up your potions and scrolls? Reading teleport scrolls instead of berzsering? Berszerking to run for a staircase rather than to fight? (berserk and fight when it's the best way to stay alive; berserking too often means that an orc priest will wander in while you're slowed.) Identifying items and using wands liberally, except for polymorph? Picking up junk (stones, darts) and throwing it at things before closing for battle? Most are generally good ideas.