I need advice to learn from my Mistakes

Ask fellow adventurers how to stay alive in the deep, dark, dangerous dungeon below, or share your own accumulated wisdom.

Dungeon Dilettante

Post Saturday, 10th October 2015, 16:47

I need advice to learn from my Mistakes

Hello fellow crawlers,

Im fairly new to DCSS and I were trying DrTm,DEQj,GrGl and DE-Elementalists too but my first decent run were with a http://textuploader.com/aw76a DDFi but i wanted to now what i could do better so pls give me some advice.
Pls dont flame me for my bad English im not a native speaker
ty TheAraber

Tomb Titivator

Post Saturday, 10th October 2015, 17:02

Re: I need advice to learn from my Mistakes

Noticed you died in slime pits. Don't go in there yet! That's an endgame (or sometimes 3rd rune) branch.
Comborobin Admin

Mines Malingerer

Post Saturday, 10th October 2015, 17:09

Unless you're determined to learn the game yourself, the wiki is a good resource. The 'walkthrough' page of the wiki should give you a general idea of how to proceed. You will see, for example, that the slime pits is an extremely dangerous branch, which you really should not have entered with that DDFi.

Anyway, any given character has 2 main goals: have tools to reliably and quickly kill all enemy types, and be ready and able to make a quick escape if you are in trouble. You should keep keep your skills in 'manual' mode, and develop these tools ASAP. When you die, typically you were either not being cautious enough (i.e. fleeing a dangerous situation before it becomes an emergency), or exploring an area you just weren't ready for.

Cocytus Succeeder

Post Saturday, 10th October 2015, 17:59

I'm sorry I don't have the time right now to write some general advices or regarding the char you posted. There are some decent posts scattered around the forum with general advice, you should search them, or I hope someone else is going to link them or give some general advice.