Playing a non-healer?

Ask fellow adventurers how to stay alive in the deep, dark, dangerous dungeon below, or share your own accumulated wisdom.

Temple Termagant

Post Wednesday, 6th April 2011, 08:20

Playing a non-healer?

How do characters that do not naturally regenerate health over time recover reliably from damage? Is there some sort of strategy they can use to keep themselves alive? I am new to this game, so there may be something obvious I overlooked. I tried playing a Deep Dwarf Necromancer as a caster that was described as easy. Most of the time I can kite my enemies and avoid damage, but sooner or later I get hit hard. My heal potions and the wand are very limited. Vampiric draining seems to barely return any health, especially since whatever I'm draining next to me will be taking hits at me. I also tried to play a Vampire in the bloodless form and came across similar issues. Please advise. Thanks.

Blades Runner

Post Wednesday, 6th April 2011, 08:50

Re: Playing a non-healer?

you have a rather thorough list over here, at the bottom:
http://crawl.chaosforge.org/index.php?title=Deep_dwarf

for deep dwarves and vampires in particular, vampiric draining and makhleb (who restores HP and MP for kills) work very well. as a deep dwarf you'll have to rely on healing wands and potions until you can cast the former reliably, or get enough piety for the latter, but keep in mind that you can recharge any wand at the cost of a permanent MP (see 'a'). for vampires, there's little need to play bloodless during the early game (poison resistance helps, but you can do without much rC and rN).