Enemies following you on stairs

Questions, Explanations, Howtos

Mines Malingerer

Post Sunday, 25th August 2013, 00:49

Enemies following you on stairs

Hi all. I'm a PhD student in the social sciences, and I've been trying to get into the academic side of game discussion for a little while. I'm currently writing a thing about the concept of "unavoidable death" in games, and I'm using Crawl to illustrate a few points. However, I have a quick question. When I go back up a staircase, surrounded by enemies, sometimes they all seem to follow, sometimes only a few do, and sometimes none do. Does anyone know what exactly determines if an enemy follows you back up the stairs or not?

Dungeon Master

Post Sunday, 25th August 2013, 01:28

Re: Enemies following you on stairs

The rule is that all adjacent enemies will follow apart from some that are "too stupid to use stairs" which mostly means zombies and skeletons. Monsters further away should not be able to follow you barring some very unlikely events (sometimes a monster, or also you, gets a double move).

Oh, by the way Crawl comes with a design document which has something to say about unavoidable deaths. Press ?n in the game to read it.
You should also be aware of the existence of very long streaks (a single player winning games back to back -- the online playing mode means that cheating is not possible). This basically means that, given enough experience and care, almost every game can be won. However, only very few players can pull this off.

For this message the author dpeg has received thanks:
MIC132

Dis Charger

Post Sunday, 25th August 2013, 01:46

btw, it seems that they don't only follow you, but they hit you too. Probably to prevent too much stairdancing?

Ziggurat Zagger

Post Sunday, 25th August 2013, 02:00

Well, it takes over 2 turns to climb or decend stairs (2.3 to be specific) so if I was an enemy I'd certainly whack you for free :)
Spoiler: show