basic lua instructions

Questions, Explanations, Howtos

Dungeon Dilettante

Post Wednesday, 10th October 2012, 20:31

basic lua instructions

I'm an experienced programmer trying to learn LUA through DCSS. The apparent lack of documentation doesn't bother me, but it does mean I need to ask a few questions and check a few statements.

1. I'm making a lot of code changes while figuring out what properties and functions work. Each time I make a change, I have to exit and restart the game to use the new code. Is there a way to reload my .rc file from inside the game?

2. Examples are helpful for learning, even if they're out of date. I'm working with ZotBot and autopray2. I've seen references to other bots (autorobin, auto7hm) but the links are broken. Working links/files would be appreciated if anybody has some.

3. The parts of DCSS that attempt to call custom code use "clua.callfn". I'm pretty sure that's correct, but is it complete? This gives me potential hooks in: c_interrupt_activity, c_assign_invletter, c_kill_list, ready, hit_closest, hit_adjacent, ch_mon_is_safe, choose_stat_gain, and whatever par.section.c_str() is.

Dungeon Master

Post Thursday, 11th October 2012, 01:15

Re: basic lua instructions

splat wrote:1. I'm making a lot of code changes while figuring out what properties and functions work. Each time I make a change, I have to exit and restart the game to use the new code. Is there a way to reload my .rc file from inside the game?

I think the best you can do is enter arbitratry lua code with & Ctrl-T in wizard mode; that is treated as dlua, though, so it's not perfect. There isn't a way to re-read a config file (and it wouldn't work right anyway, since many options are not idempotent).

splat wrote:2. Examples are helpful for learning, even if they're out of date. I'm working with ZotBot and autopray2. I've seen references to other bots (autorobin, auto7hm) but the links are broken. Working links/files would be appreciated if anybody has some.