Vault Making Questions

Questions, Explanations, Howtos

Dungeon Dilettante

Post Tuesday, 16th August 2011, 14:05

Vault Making Questions

I'm new to vault making (just discovered it yesterday) and I have a couple of minor questions.

1) If I have a monster with an over rided name (i.e. Durwent for a kobold), if I then added a description for Durwent at the end of monsters.txt, would that be its description.

2) When I give a monster a spell that already has an ability (i.e. give a dragon throw flame), am I overriding its ability too? Is there a way to override an ability with a different one?
2.5) Is it possible to change the description on what happens when a monster activates an ability/spell (like have it say when an iron dragon breathes iron shards: "the iron dragon emits a crystal explosion")?

3) Is it possible to KITEMS an unrand artifact by saying a "black crossbow" , "golden longsword", etc.

Dungeon Dilettante

Post Tuesday, 16th August 2011, 17:03

Re: Vault Making Questions

Thanks. And as for the first question I answered it myself by testing.
One more question/how to:

I am trying to make a vault that encompasses a map, with weight of 500 and place of D:2 so it will always come up. Now if I use Shift-L in wizard mode it will spawn and work, but when I try to go down a staircase on D:1 it freezes and crashes. I thought it might by that I didn't place enough staircases, but when I put 3 sets in it still crashed. I couldn't find any bugs in my code, so maybe there is a specific size the map has to be, or another problem?

(also when I try to reopen the character it freezes and crashes.)

Dungeon Master

Post Tuesday, 16th August 2011, 22:31

Don't you have a crash report?
<+Grunt> You dereference an invalid pointer! Ouch! That really hurt! The game dies...

Dungeon Dilettante

Post Tuesday, 16th August 2011, 22:44