How do you feel about death?

If it doesn't fit anywhere else, it belongs here. Also, come here if you just need to get hammered.

Halls Hopper

Post Sunday, 27th February 2011, 21:53

How do you feel about death?

Hey all, outside the Crawl universe I'm a lowly journalism student. I'm doing a project on death in roguelikes (Crawl in particular) and I want your input on player death and permadeath in general. This isn't a thread to argue game design, but instead one to explain how you personally feel about character death.

Here's some questions for discussion and consideration. Answer as many or as few as you want, and feel free to add other ideas.

- Do you get emotionally attached to particularly promising characters?

- Roughly how many games of Crawl have you played? About how many of those were wins?

- How do you feel when a character dies? Does it matter whether they're far along in the game or not?

- Do you consider your character an "avatar" for yourself, or are you playing a role? Do you have any formulas for naming your characters?

- What's the feeling you get after you win a game of Crawl? Is it the same as the feeling you had when you won your first game?

- In contrast, does dying frustrate you, or do you think it's a necessary to the pleasure of the game? Have you ever done anything drastic after a particularly brutal or noteworthy death?

- Do you think permadeath could become a popular concept in mainstream game design? Why or why not?

- What originally drew you to roguelikes? What keeps you playing them?

- To you, what's one example of good game design in Crawl that makes permadeath more entertaining/interesting?

Mines Malingerer

Post Sunday, 27th February 2011, 22:49

Re: How do you feel about death?