Demographics of this Community

If it doesn't fit anywhere else, it belongs here. Also, come here if you just need to get hammered.

Slime Squisher

Post Thursday, 24th February 2011, 06:09

Demographics of this Community

Hey guys,

So I was just wondering, what exactly are our demographics? Age, ethnicity, gender, occupation, etc. And how did you start playing crawl?

I'll start off: I'm a 16 year old Asian boy who is a high school student. I started playing crawl because I got interested in rogue-likes after playing Diablo II.

Please contribute to the 1st annual DCSS Census!
TrCK:
Xom grants you an implement of some kind.
_Something appears at your feet!
4790 gold pieces {god gift}.

DsAr:
You blink. You feel slightly more hungry. Prince Ribbit hits you. You die...
"Hey, that's my toy!"
Xom revives you!

Vestibule Violator

Post Thursday, 24th February 2011, 06:23

Re: Demographics of this Community

All right:

Sex: Male
Ethnicity: Caucasian
Citizenship: Canadian
Languages spoken: English, German
Education: B.A. (International Development Studies), law degree
Family status: Married, 3 year old daughter, expecting #2
Computer platforms: Windows, Linux
DCSS versions played: Tiles, offline.
Play Crawl because: Nethack was literally the first game I ever played on a PC, in 1987. I lost interest in the later versions, and eventually discovered Dungeon Crawl which was everything I had wanted Nethack to be. And more - so much more.

I suggest we also add explanations of our user names and avatars. Mine's pretty boring - my first name (daniel) and last initial (r). My avatar until today was Richard from the webcomic Looking for Group who is some kind of lich wizard, but I changed it to Bucky Katt from the Get Fuzzy comic. Because he's like a Felid.

Tartarus Sorceror

Post Thursday, 24th February 2011, 07:11

Ethnicity: Asian
Citizenship: Indonesian
Languages spoken: English, Indonesian
Education: IT
Computer platform: Windows
DCSS versions played: Tiles, offline