Other Roguelikes You Enjoy?

If it doesn't fit anywhere else, it belongs here. Also, come here if you just need to get hammered.

Lair Larrikin

Post Wednesday, 1st February 2012, 12:41

Other Roguelikes You Enjoy?

Hey guys :) I was curious, we're all Crawl players here, obviously, but there have to be other roguelikes we play, right? Well, this is a thread to discuss which roguelikes we enjoy, and most importantly - why we enjoy them. What mechanics, visuals or other thingies in those games make us go back to them again and again. It could be a single ability or enemy, or place, even.

I just started playing Tome 4. I had heard of Tome before, and only bad things - it was boring, an Angband variant, not really interesting, a mess of mechanics, and most importantly - boring. So when a forum I frequent had a really quickly growing thread on Tome 4 I got suspicious. Had everyone lost their minds?

Then I tried it. It's slow, runs choppy, it's very long as a whole - 20 or 30 hours start to finish, crashes a lot because it's still beta, the endgame has a lot of stupid instagib deaths; but I'll be damned if the combat isn't the most enjoyable roguelike combat I have seen.

Tome 4 takes a hint from MMOs - each class (and there are some insane classes - like Wyrmic, a fighter who mimics dragons and can spit sand to blind enemies, cause miniature earthquakes which rearrange the terrain, or just outright swallow enemies alive, or several classes built around time buggery) has a number of open and hidden talent trees, which give you different abilities to use in combat. There are a number of resources classes use for these abilities - mana, stamina, equilibrium, hate, paradox - to name a few, and each ability has a cooldown.