Crawl Development, and the lack of Player input therein.

If it doesn't fit anywhere else, it belongs here. Also, come here if you just need to get hammered.

Temple Termagant

Post Friday, 22nd July 2016, 19:37

Crawl Development, and the lack of Player input therein.

Hello, I am Alatreon, and I generally frequent CBRO. I have been a active part of this community since august of last year, and with off and on spats. During the past year, I have noticed a disturbing trend. It seems as though the player base of this game has little to no say in how it is developed. Of course, this is only based off of evidence that I personally have seen. A number of players agreed that certain changes to the game were not in the best interest of the enjoyment of this game, such as amulet reform and other things. Now, I am no game developer, nor do I profess that I know how to be a better one, but is it not true that the developers devlop games for the consumer? And if enough of the consumers want something, is that not a logical reason to design for what the consumers want? Anyways, sorry for the long paragraph, I just needed to get something off of my chest.

Shoals Surfer

Post Friday, 22nd July 2016, 19:41

Re: Crawl Development, and the lack of Player input therein.

Because the forums tend to get frequented by the vocal minority.
aka: Innameasone and electricaloddity

Tartarus Sorceror

Post Friday, 22nd July 2016, 19:45

Alatreon wrote:Now, I am no game developer, nor do I profess that I know how to be a better one, but is it not true that the developers devlop games for the consumer?

No. Putting aside the specific case of crawl, there's plenty of games (brogue comes to mind) that are developed towards the developers' interests.

And if enough of the consumers want something, is that not a logical reason to design for what the consumers want?

Definitely no. People are by and large, idiots, who don't know what they want.
take it easy