Remove extended?

If it doesn't fit anywhere else, it belongs here. Also, come here if you just need to get hammered.

Temple Termagant

Post Monday, 14th July 2014, 13:16

Remove extended?

While I have little experience with extended, I see everyone complaining how boring and unbalanced it is, so I was wondering why no one seems to have proposed removing it (or, more likely, I have just missed it).
An often-seen argument is that it is voluntary, but this hasn't kept other features from being removed (and it shouldn't, IMO).

Ziggurat Zagger

Post Monday, 14th July 2014, 14:02

Re: Remove extended?

The voluntary argument does apply here though, moreso than to some other features anyway. If there was e.g. a badly designed god who was a good choice for some characters, if you want to play to win, you have to follow this badly designed god during some games. If you are playing to win, you never want to do extended since you can just get the orb and win, not taking any unncecessary risks. So it is completely up to the player's personal preference whether they do extended or not.

(I also think extended has plenty of good moments - the last hell levels are exciting, the named pan lords are as well, slime pits are quite a good branch especially now that corrosion is temporary and meaningful. Tomb and Abyss have the biggest problems)

Ziggurat Zagger

Post Monday, 14th July 2014, 17:32

And I think 90% of tomb's problems are mostly just death curses, which could be removed fairly easily. Not sure they need much to replace them. Torment, smite, summons should be nasty enough on their own, and then I can finally slouch 30 mummies at once without insta-death.

Ziggurat Zagger

Post Monday, 14th July 2014, 17:34

So the fact that a whole branch is composed of 1 group of sphinxes and 3 types of mummies, one of which is harmless and two of which are the same except one takes longer to kill, only accounts for 10% of tomb's problems? You must really hate death curses