YAVP - Lava Orc testing in trunk

Yet Another Stupid Death - Find a particularly innovative way to get killed? Share your pain!
Yet Another Victory Post - Brag about your bad-ass character and all your runes and whatnot.
Characters in Progress - share promising or interesting characters that are not dead yet.

Lair Larrikin

Post Saturday, 16th February 2013, 01:41

YAVP - Lava Orc testing in trunk

After a long time not playing Crawl, I came back recently - mainly because I was still on the list of people to notify for a particular issue on Mantis, and now that it's been resolved by somebody else (sorry!) I got emails about the progress of the patch, reminding me that it's been a while since I played.

So I've been playing the latest version. Since I'm a developer, I've also been testing out features on trunk, including some of the experimental branches. I did very well on one of the characters, ending in a 15-rune win, and so here we are - a victory post along with some comments on trunk features.

I played this game off of trunk with 2 experimental branches merged in:

1. Eronarn's Lava Orc branch, which adds a new race to the game, Lava Orcs. They have similar aptitudes to hill orcs, but are better at fire and earth magic, worse at ranged combat, and have a special feature of gaining different abilities according to their "temperature". Dangerous situations make your temperature go up, until you light up with molten fire, gaining heavy fire resistance, enhancement to fire spells, and an aura that damages all adjacent monsters. However, you can't read scrolls while at maximum temperature.