Thoughts on DCSS after 209 on-line games and 10 wins.

Yet Another Stupid Death - Find a particularly innovative way to get killed? Share your pain!
Yet Another Victory Post - Brag about your bad-ass character and all your runes and whatnot.
Characters in Progress - share promising or interesting characters that are not dead yet.

Snake Sneak

Post Friday, 11th July 2014, 01:50

Thoughts on DCSS after 209 on-line games and 10 wins.

Here are my on-line player stats: http://crawl.akrasiac.org/scoring/players/doubtofbuddha

So after on-line 209 games I have finally achieved the #crawl achievement of “good player” and it seems worthwhile to reflect a bit on my time playing Dungeon Crawl Stone Soup, which is easily my favorite game at this point in time. I started playing off-line a little over a year ago, though most of my play last time we concentrated over a few months. I never won, and my conception of what a good character and good play was has changed pretty rapidly since then. It is particularly startling looking back at some of my equipment choices for old games. I decided to switch to on-line play after I picked things up after the 0.14 release and got my first win, a Formicid Fighter of Chei. I attribute that win mostly to having pearl dragon armour early but I have been able to win frequently enough since then that I can’t attribute it entirely to luck. Afterwards I decided to switch to on-line play, as I liked the idea of being able to get more effective critiques of what I was doing right and wrong, and I wanted to participate in WalkerBoh’s Sudden Death tournament. I ended up doing badly in the tournament, but Interwoven with my games I have been able to rack up a reasonable amount of wins, with a total win rate of 4.78%. These are the games I have won with a few comments on each:

Demonspawn Artificer of Qazlal (http://crawl.akrasiac.org/rawdata/doubt ... 201458.txt)